#AuthorInterview Collette Cameron #Author of The Viscount’s Vow

VBT The Viscounts Vow Banner copy

1) Can you tell us a little bit about yourself?

I live in the Pacific Northwest and love going to the beach. When I’m not writing, or teaching, I like to garden, bird watch, and dabble in amateur photography. I’m also a chocoholic, love a good cup of coffee, trivia, and my five dachshunds. Oh, I also  have a  hubby of 30 years and 3 amazing kids.

2) As a child, what did you want to do when you grew up?

I wanted to be a professional interpreter—kind of hard to do when I don’t speak any other languages.

3) When did you first start writing?

I started writing my first romance novel in February 2011. I’d not written anything except term papers before that.

4) What would you say is your interesting writing quirk?

I have to have total silence when I write.

4) What does your family think of your writing?

My immediate family has been so supportive, though only my daughter has read my books. She’s one of my beta readers. My boys are convinced my romances are nothing but sex, and hubby isn’t a reader. He so cute though, he hands out my business cards and bookmarks to all his work contacts.

 

5) What was one of the most surprising things you learned in creating books?

My imagination is limitless. I’m amazed at the things I come up with.

 

4) How many books have you written? Which is your favorite?

I just finished my third, sending if off to my publisher this week as a matter of fact, and it’s my favorite so far.

5) How did you choose what genre to write in?

I’m a history nut, and my reading genre of choice has always been historical, especially Regencies. It was only natural that when I started to write, I’d write a Regency.

6) Do you ever experience writer’s block?

Not yet. Keeping my fingers crossed!

 

7) How did you come up with the title?

I knew the title of The Viscount’s Vow before I started writing it because I’d hints of the story in my first novel. I knew I had a viscount’s who’d vowed vengeance and that he’d be caught in his own trap. He was too…quite nicely.

8) What has been the toughest criticism given to you as an author? What has been the best compliment?

Toughest? Hmm, I suppose a couple nasty reviews I’ve gotten. If they’d been constructive or helpful in some way, I’d have looked at them seriously to see if I could improve my writing. But when they consist of gross inaccuracies and are little better than bullying, I have chosen to ignore them.

The best compliment is when readers want more books by me because they’ve so enjoyed one of mine they’ve just read.

9) Print or e-book?

I prefer a book in my hand, but to tell the truth, I’ve only read e-books for the past several  months.

 

10) PC or Mac?

PC, though I’m toying with the idea of getting a Mac.

 

11) What is your favorite way to spend a rainy day?

Curl up in my jammies with a quilt and my doxies, oh and a steaming cup of coffee (don’t forget the crème brulee creamer) and read a romance.

 

12) What is something people would be surprised to know about you?

I loathe mushrooms and peas.

 

Don’t forget to check out, Viscount’s Vow by Collette Cameron

 

 

MEDIA KIT TheViscountsVow2_850

 

 

800×600

Normal
0

false
false
false

EN-GB
X-NONE
X-NONE

MicrosoftInternetExplorer4

/* Style Definitions */
table.MsoNormalTable
{mso-style-name:”Table Normal”;
mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0;
mso-tstyle-colband-size:0;
mso-style-noshow:yes;
mso-style-priority:99;
mso-style-parent:””;
mso-padding-alt:0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt;
mso-para-margin:0in;
mso-para-margin-bottom:.0001pt;
mso-pagination:widow-orphan;
font-size:10.0pt;
font-family:”Calibri”,”sans-serif”;}

BLURB:

Amidst murder and betrayal, destiny and hearts collide when scandal forces a nobleman and a  gypsy to marry in this Regency Romance.

Half Romani, half English noblewoman, Evangeline Caruthers is the last woman in England Ian Hamilton, the Viscount Warrick, could ever love—an immoral wanton responsible for his brother’s and father’s deaths. She thinks he’s a foul-tempered blackguard, who after setting out to cause her downfall, finds himself forced to marry her—snared in the trap of his own making.

When Vangie learns the marriage ceremony itself may have been a ruse, she flees to her gypsy relatives, declaring herself divorced from Ian under Romani law. He pursues her to the gypsy encampment, and when the handsome gypsy king offers to take Ian’s place in Vangie’s bed, jealousy stirs hot and dangerous.

At last, under a balmy starlit sky, Ian and Vangie breech the chasm separating them. Peril lurks though. Ian’s the last in his line, and his stepmother intends to dispose of the newlyweds so her daughter can inherit his estate. Only by trusting each other can they overcome scandal and murderous betrayal.

Excerpt:

800×600

Normal
0

false
false
false

EN-GB
X-NONE
X-NONE

MicrosoftInternetExplorer4

/* Style Definitions */
table.MsoNormalTable
{mso-style-name:”Table Normal”;
mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0;
mso-tstyle-colband-size:0;
mso-style-noshow:yes;
mso-style-priority:99;
mso-style-parent:””;
mso-padding-alt:0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt;
mso-para-margin:0in;
mso-para-margin-bottom:.0001pt;
mso-pagination:widow-orphan;
font-size:10.0pt;
font-family:”Calibri”,”sans-serif”;}

Gypsy Camp Ian’s Return

Ian rode Pericles directly across the clearing and stopped before her. Something delicious skimmed across her senses before she returned her attention to the child. She handed Puri Daj a soft linen cloth to wrap Lala’s calf. He’d returned. She truly hadn’t thought he would. Surely the fluttering in her middle wasn’t gladness?

After what he’d done to her?

She wasn’t completely addle-witted. No, she’d not eaten anything since morning. She was hungry—that was all.

She watched him from the corner of her eye. Holding the reins in his left hand, he grasped Pericles’s mane and swung his right leg over the stallion’s hindquarters. With a powerful shove, he dropped to the ground. With a smart bow, Ian greeted Puri Daj first. “Droboy tume Romale.”

A pleased look flashed across Puri Daj’s face. She inclined her head in greeting. “Thank you, Ian. You learn our language. This is good.” She smiled her approval.

He was learning Romanes? Vangie squelched the happiness attempting to bubble to the surface. Balderdash and rubbish. It meant nothing. If he thought he could wheedle his way into her affections by learning a bit of Romanese—

Lud, now he’s smiling at Lala.

Ian bowed to the child. “Droboy tume tinka.”

Lala giggled and buried her face in Puri Daj’s skirt. Vangie dipped her head and hid a smile. He could charm a stick into throwing itself into a fire, then have it thanking him for the honor.

“Vangie,” His deep voice interrupted her musings. “I’m sorry I didn’t return last evening.” Ian rubbed the Pericles’s forehead before patting his neck and grasping his bridle. “I was delayed.”

Vangie placed the stopper on the jar of pungent ointment, then wiped her hands on her apron. “Tis of no importance.” She searched his face. Lines of fatigue marred his brow and crinkled the corners of his eyes. Faith, had he slept at all? Unease washed over her. Something was wrong.

AUTHOR Bio and Links:

 

A life-long Oregonian, Collette Cameron was born and raised in a small town along the northern Oregon coast. Today she makes her home in a rural community, 30 minutes west of Portland. Her Victorian farmhouse sits on a one-acre certified wildlife habit, interspersed with a plethora of gardens: English, rose, butterfly, rock, water, and of course, vegetable.

 

A voracious reader of romance since her teens, she even named her daughter after a heroine in her favorite romance novel. An enthusiast of times gone by, and anything related to romance, she writes Historical Romance, with a dash of inspiration, a pinch of humor, and a liberal portion of suspense.

 

Having dabbled in interior decorating in her youth, Collette returned to school, graduating summa cum laude from Oregon State University, and went on to obtain her Master’s Degree in Teaching. She is member of Romance Writers of America, Rose City Romance Writers, The Beau Monde, and Love Faith and Hope, Inc., and a whole slew of other author/writer groups.

Some of Collette’s favorite things include unique blends of coffees and teas, trivia, Cadbury Milk Chocolate, inspirational quotes, and scented candles. Her Christian faith, husband, three adult children, and five miniature dachshunds round out her life quite nicely! When she’s not teaching or writing, she enjoys amateur photography, bird watching, gardening, interior decorating, rock-hunting, boating or fishing on the Columbia River, and reading of course.

 

To connect with Collette, please visit www.collettecameron.com or http://blueroseromance.com/

 

She can also be found on:

Facebook:  http://facebook.com/collettecameronauthor

Pinterest:  http://pinterest.com/colletteauthor/

Google+:  https://plus.google.com/110459897284342875390/auto

LinkedIn:  http://www.linkedin.com/pub/collette-cameron/60/17a/667

Twitter:  http://twitter.com/Collette_Author

 

Buy Link:

Amazon:  http://www.amazon.com/The-Viscounts-Regency-Romance-ebook/dp/B00EZ8RBN2

BOOK TRAILER LINK:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0HnUxiYbR5I

 

Other Books by Collette Cameron

MEDIA KIT Highlanders COVER small

 

3 comments on “#AuthorInterview Collette Cameron #Author of The Viscount’s Vow

  1. karenh43 says:

    Thanks for your interview and excerpt.

    kareninnc at gmail dot com

  2. Mary Preston says:

    Great to get to know more about you today thank you. I love the beach too – and chocolate.

    marypres(AT)gmail(DOT)com

Leave a Reply

