An Interview with Carlos Martinez

Today, We have with us the famous author and traveler, Carlos Martinez. Welcome Here!

 

Q: Tell us a little about yourself? Perhaps something not many people know?

CM: My name is Carlos Martinez Robalino and I can be best described as a charismatic, spontaneous and spiritual individual. I was born in Riobamba, Ecuador under the sign of Gemini, 41 years ago. I am a passionate author, a traveler and a devoted ecologist living in Fairfield, Connecticut, USA, where I share my home with my youngest brother and my beautiful niece. I derive joy from music, writing and movies, three forms in which I constantly communicate and share my experiences.

 

Q: Do you have any hidden or uncommon talents?

CM: I have a tendency towards literary arts and I have won at the age of 15 a poetry contest, “The Boy Who Sold Newspapers”. I also write musical pieces, my portfolio counting over 100, of which 8 registered on vinyl and CD.

 

Q: What gives you inspiration for your book(s)?

CM: The inspiration behind my first novel, “The Eagle’s Journey” was Eckhart Tolle, the author of “The power of now”.

 

Q: Are your characters based off real people or did they all come entirely from your imagination?

 

CM: My characters are based on real people that I have encountered during my lifetime. However, my characters are fictional, meaning that some of the experiences in the book are the result of my imagination.

 

Q: Could you tell us a bit about your most recent book and why it is a must-read?

CM: Sure, I would love to. My latest and in the same time, my first release is a novel about self discovery. The spiritual journey my readers are invited to make is accompanied by the main characters of the novel, David and Peter, all along which allowed me, the author, to share with the public some life changing philosophies and ideas that have a great impact and challenged me as well as it will challenge them. The premise of the plot is a young man discovering how the journey of the life of an eagle mirrors his personal journey as he travels through manhood. The basis of action is the different trials and circumstances that interfere with Peter and David trying to capture footage of the eagle. David also struggles with living in the outdoors, while trying to learn all that he possibly can from Peter.

 

Q: What do you love most about the writing process?

CM: I see writing as a gift of giving, therefore, I chose writing Self Discovery books as I truly believe I can bring a positive impact on people’s life by encouraging them to grow on a spiritual level. Writing this book became my therapy and I considered my first release a transformational quest for my own personal beliefs. I found that publishing a book is a challenging process, filled with ups and downs, yet rewarding in the spiritual sense, as now I can say I have a written legacy – my first novel, and hopefully, not my last. During this process, I met a lot of talented individuals who helped me and for whom I am extremely grateful, as they helped me share my story with the rest of the world.

 

Q: Of all the characters you have created, which is your favorite and why?

CM: My favorite character is Peter, an old yet very wise man who guides David, the main character towards a spiritual path, which will be his transformational quest, journey which will be spiced with deep impressions, beauty and adventures.

 

Q: What is the biggest surprise that you experienced after becoming a writer?

 

CM: I can’t say I have experienced a surprise until now. I usually don’t plan things. I just let the story flow, as I consider this process more challenging and surprising. I believe that planning everything deprives the joy of the unknown. For that, I am always emphasized by a quote: “When I am, I don’t think; When I think, I am not here”.

 

 

Q: Do you have a day job in addition to being a writer? If so, what do you do during the day?

 

CM: I am a writer, a traveler and a devoted ecologist! I am trying to create my environment on what I love to do. On the other hand, yes, I also work during the day… but I wouldn’t want our readers to be deprived by the joy of the unknown! J

 

Q: Tell us a little about your plans for the future. Where do you see yourself as a writer in five years? Do you have any other books in the works?

CM: I am not working at a project for now, but I plan to start a new book soon. Especially now that I overcame some of the challenges a published author experiences. I would really want my readers to be satisfied with my work – that would be the most amazing thing ever: to know that I have brought a positive impact on someone’s life as a result of reading one of my books.

 

And now, just some little random questions!

Q: Favorite city? 

CM: Tibet – it’s filled with deep spiritual impressions.

 

 

Q: Favorite food? 

CM: Tuna, eggs and rice.

 

 

Q: Favorite book?

CM: “The power of now” written by Eckhart Tolle

 

 

Q: To conclude, is there anything you would like to say to your readers?

 

CM: To whoever reads this interview, my advice to you is to have confidence in your powers and to enjoy the journey wherever it may take you. And on a side note, it wouldn’t hurt reading my first novel, “The Eagle’s Journey”. J

 

Q: Where can we find you online?

CM:

Please check by and say ‘hi’ at www.carlosmartinezrobalino.com

To stay connected, please use the social environment, where you can find me on:

Facebook – www.facebook.com/Author.Carlos.Martinez

Twitter – www.twitter.com/ca__martinez

GoodReadshttp://www.goodreads.com/book/show/16275752-the-eagle-s-journey

Now, if I made you curious and you want to purchase my book, you can do so by going at:

Amazon – Paperback | Hardcover | Kindle

Barnes & Noble – Paperback | Hardcover | Nook

PDF download

Leave a Reply

